## **Company Profile and Corporate Information**

China Netcom Group Corporation (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Company", "our Company", "we" or "us", and together with its subsidiaries, the "Group") is a company incorporated under the Companies Ordinance (Chapter 32 of the Laws of Hong Kong) in Hong Kong on October 22, 1999 with limited liability. We were listed on the New York Stock Exchange and the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited on November 16, 2004 and November 17, 2004, respectively.

We are a leading broadband communications and fixed-line telecommunications operator in China. Our northern service region in China consists of Beijing Municipality, Tianjin Municipality, Hebei Province, Henan Province, Shandong Province, Liaoning Province, Heilongjiang Province, Jilin Province, Neimenggu Autonomous Region and Shanxi Province. Our southern service region in China consists of Guangdong Province and Shanghai Municipality. On February 28, 2007, we sold the telecommunications assets, liabilities and business operations in Guangdong Province and Shanghai Municipality and our service region will no longer include our southern service region hereafter.

In our northern service region, the Company is a dominant provider of fixed-line telephone services, broadband and other Internet-related services, as well as business & data communications services.

The services that we offer include:

- fixed-line telephone services (including Personal Handyphone System, or PHS services), including local, domestic long distance and international long distance services;
- broadband and other Internet-related services, including XDSL, LAN, wireless and other Internet access services, broadband content
  and applications services;
- business and data communications services, including managed data and leased line services; and
- information and communications technology services (the "ICT"), including services such as system integration, software development, maintenance and consultancy.

As of December 31, 2006, China Network Communications Group Corporation ("China Netcom Group", our ultimate controlling shareholder), beneficially owned approximately 69.88% of shares in the Company through China Netcom Group Corporation (BVI) Limited ("CNC BVI"); Shandong Provincial State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission beneficially owned 2.25% of shares in the Company; each of Chinese Academy of Sciences Holdings Co., Ltd., Information and Network Center of the State Administration of Radio, Film and Television, China Railways Telecommunications Center and Shanghai Alliance Investment Limited beneficially owned 0.56% of shares in the Company; Telefónica Internacional, S.A. beneficially owned 4.99% of shares in the Company, and public investors owned 20.64% of shares in the Company.

## **Company Profile and Corporate Information**

## Registered office

Room 6701, The Center 99 Queen's Road Central Hong Kong

**Board of Directors** 

Mr. ZHANG Chunjiang Chairman and Executive Director

Mr. ZUO Xunsheng Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer

Mr. ZHANG Xiaotie Executive Director

Mr. LI Fushen Executive Director, Chief Financial Officer and Joint Company Secretary

Mr. MIAO Jianhua Executive Director

Dr. TIAN Suning Vice Chairman and Non-executive

Director

Mr. YAN Yixun Non-executive Director Mr. José María Non-executive Director

ÁLVAREZ-PALLETE

Mr. Mauricio SARTORIUS Non-executive Director
Mr. John Lawson Independent Non-executive
THORNTON Director

Mr. Victor CHA Mou Zing Independent Non-executive

Director

Dr. QIAN Yingyi Independent Non-executive

Director

Mr. HOU Ziqiang Independent Non-executive

Director

Mr. Timpson CHUNG Independent Non-executive

Shui Ming Director

Ms. Hong CHEN JIN (Alternate Director to Mr. José María

ÁLVAREZ-PALLETE and Mr.

Mauricio SARTORIUS)

Joint company secretaries

Mr. LI Fushen Ms. MOK Kam Wan

Qualified accountant

Mr. LEUNG June Man HKICPA, AICPA

**Auditors** 

PricewaterhouseCoopers

Legal advisers

As to Hong Kong Laws:

Linklaters As to U.S. Laws:

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

**Investor Relations** 

Beijing Office

No. 21 Financial Street

Xicheng District

Beijing 100032, P. R. China Telephone: 8610-66259550 Facsimile: 8610-66259544 E-mail: ir@china-netcom.com

Website: www.china-netcom.com

**Committees of the Board** 

**Audit committee** 

Mr. Timpson CHUNG Shui Ming Chairman

Dr. QIAN Yingyi

Mr. Victor CHA Mou Zing

Mr. HOU Ziqiang

Nominating and corporate governance committee

Mr. John Lawson THORNTON Chairman

Mr. ZHANG Chunjiang Mr. ZUO Xunsheng Mr. Victor CHA Mou Zing Dr. QIAN Yingyi

**Compensation committee** 

Dr. QIAN Yingyi Chairman

Mr. ZHANG Xiaotie

Mr. LI Fushen

Mr. John Lawson THORNTON Mr. Timpson CHUNG Shui Ming

**Strategy committee** 

Mr. ZHANG Chunjiang Chairman

Mr. ZUO Xunsheng Mr. LI Fushen Dr. TIAN Suning

Mr. José María ÁLVAREZ-PALLETE

Dr. QIAN Yingyi Mr. HOU Ziqiang

**Supervision committee** 

Mr. MIAO Jianhua Chairman

Mr. ZHANG Xiaotie Mr. Victor CHA Mou Zing Mr. HOU Ziqiang

Mr. Timpson CHUNG Shui Ming

Stock code:

The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong: 906 New York Stock Exchange: CN

Share registrar and transfer office

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited

Rooms 1712-1716,

17th Floor, Hopewell Centre

183 Queen's Road East

Wan Chai Hong Kong

American depositary receipts depositary

Citibank, N.A.

388 Greenwich St.,14th Floor New York, NY10013, U.S.A.

Tel: 1-212-816-6671 Fax: 1-212-816-6865