

中國工商銀行股份有限公司

INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

ANNOUNCEMENT COMPLETION OF ACQUISITION OF 20% SHAREHOLDING IN STANDARD BANK GROUP LIMITED

The board of directors of the Bank is pleased to announce that the Bank obtained the approval from the China Banking Regulatory Commission regarding the acquisition by the Bank of shares in SBG on 23 January 2008 and the approval from the South African Reserve Bank on 24 October 2007 as well as all other necessary regulatory approvals, and the completion of the acquisition took place on 3 March 2008.

Reference is made to the announcement dated 25 October 2007 issued by Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "Bank") on the acquisition of 20% shareholding in Standard Bank Group Limited ("SBG") by the Bank and the shareholders circular issued by the Bank on 27 October 2007.

The board of directors of the Bank is pleased to announce that the Bank obtained the approval from the China Banking Regulatory Commission and the South African Reserve Bank on 23 January 2008 and 24 October 2007, respectively regarding the acquisition by the Bank of shares in SBG, as well as all other necessary regulatory approvals. Since all the conditions precedent are satisfied, the completion of the acquisition of shares in SBG by the Bank took place on 3 March 2008 and the Bank acquired a total of 305,010,857 shares by way of scheme of arrangement and subscription. The total consideration paid by the Bank is ZAR36,689,744,158.90 (equivalent to approximately HK\$37,015,231,595.42). As at the date of this announcement, the Bank holds 20% of the entire issued share capital of SBG.

By Order of the Board
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited
Dr. Pan Gongsheng

Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC, 3 March 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Mr. ZHANG Furong and Mr. NIU Ximing as executive directors, Mr. FU Zhongjun, Mr. KANG Xuejun, Mr. SONG Zhigang, Mr. WANG Wenyan, Ms. ZHAO Haiying, Mr. ZHONG Jian'an and Mr. Christoper A. COLE as non-executive directors and Mr. LEUNG Kam Chung, Antony, Mr. John L. THORNTON, Mr. QIAN Yingyi and Mr. XU Shanda as independent non-executive directors.