

## 中國建設銀行股份有限公司

## China Construction Bank Corporation

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

## ANNOUNCEMENT RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") announces that Mr. Zhao Lin has resigned from his post as director and vice president of the Bank.

Due to a change of job, Mr. Zhao Lin has tendered his resignation from his post as director and vice president of the Bank to the Board. His resignation becomes effective on 6 May 2008.

Mr. Zhao Lin has expressed he is honoured to have had the opportunity to serve the Bank, and is pleased with the achievements that the Bank has made. Mr. Zhao Lin sincerely appreciates the support from the directors, supervisors, management and staff of the Bank. Mr. Zhao Lin has stated that he will continuously pay attention to the reform and development of the Bank and is confident that the Bank has the capacity to achieve its strategic goals and procure greater achievements.

Mr. Zhao Lin has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

Mr. Zhao Lin has given a Confidentiality Undertaking to the Bank, and he has promised to strictly observe the confidential information of the Bank in a professional and conscientious manner in his letter of resignation.

The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude and the highest praise to Mr. Zhao Lin for his contributions to the Bank, and wishes him every success in his future endeavours.

By order of the Board China Construction Bank Corporation Zhang Jianguo Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

7 May 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo and Mr. Luo Zhefu; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yonggang, Mr. Wang Yong, Ms. Wang Shumin, Mr. Liu Xianghui, Mr. Zhang Xiangdong, Ms. Li Xiaoling and Mr. Gregory L. Curl; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Song Fengming, Ms. Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Wong Kai-Man and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius.