The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## 中國石油天然氣股份有限公司 PETROCHINA COMPANY LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 857)

(Stock Code: 857)

## Resolution Passed at the Extraordinary General Meeting dated 31 July 2008

The Board of Directors announces that the Extraordinary General Meeting was held in Beijing on 31 July 2008 and the resolution as set out below was duly passed as special resolution.

## Resolution Passed at the Extraordinary General Meeting ("EGM")

References are made to the notice of the EGM and the circular (the "Circular") of PetroChina Company Limited (the "Company") in relation to the issue of domestic corporate bonds dated 12 June 2008. Unless otherwise defined herein, terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the Circular.

The board of directors (the "Board of Directors") of the Company is pleased to announce that the EGM was held at Beijing Oriental Bay International Hotel, 26 Anwai Xibinhe Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing, the People's Republic of China ("PRC"), on 31 July 2008.

The EGM was validly convened in compliance with the requirements of the Company Law of the PRC and the Articles of Association.

At the EGM, the following special resolution was considered and approved by way of poll by a two-thirds majority vote, and the poll results of the votes are as follows:

Special Resolution	Number of votes cast and percentage of total number of votes cast			
	For	Against	Abstain	Passing Rate
To approve the issue of domestic corporate bonds in principal amount not exceeding RMB60 billion within 2 years after the date of such resolution passed at the extraordinary general meeting of the Company and to authorize the Board of Directors to deal with all matters in connection with the issue of domestic corporate bonds as set out in the Circular.	164,879,268,652	10,109,000	0	99.9939%

As at the date of the EGM:

- (1) The issued share capital of the Company and total number of Shares entitling the holder to attend and vote for or against the resolution set out in above at the EGM: 183,020,977,818 Shares comprising 161,922,077,818 A Shares and 21,098,900,000 H Shares.
- (2) Shareholders or proxies representing 178,849,334,543 Shares with voting rights, representing approximately 97.7207% of the total issued share capital of the Company attended the EGM.
- (3) There were no Shares of the Company entitling the holders to attend and vote only against the resolution at the EGM.
- (4) The poll results were subject to scrutiny by Mr. Ding Ning and Mr. Song Aimin, shareholders of A Shares, Mr. Qin Gang, supervisor of the Company, Ms. Gao Yimin of King and Wood, the PRC legal advisors of the Company and Messrs. Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu. Messrs. Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu acted as the scrutineer and compared the poll result summary to the poll forms collected and provided by the Company. The work performed by Messrs. Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu in this respect did not constitute an assurance engagement in accordance with Hong Kong Standards on Auditing, Hong Kong Standards on Review Engagements or Hong Kong Standards on Assurance Engagements issued by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants nor did it include provision of any assurance or advice on matters of legal interpretation or entitlement to vote.

By order of the Board **PetroChina Company Limited** Li Huaiqi Secretary to the Board

31 July 2008

Beijing, the PRC

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors comprises Mr Jiang Jiemin as the Chairman; Mr Zhou Jiping (Vice Chairman) and Mr Liao Yongyuan as executive Directors; Mr Wang Yilin, Mr Zeng Yukang, Mr Wang Fucheng, Mr Li Xinhua, Mr Wang Guoliang and Mr Jiang Fan as non-executive Directors; and Mr Chee-Chen Tung, Mr Liu Hongru, Mr Franco Bernabè, Mr Li Yongru and Mr CuiJunhui as independent non-executive Directors.