The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contends of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

This announcement is for information purposes only and does not constitute an invitation or offer to acquire, purchase or subscribe for securities.



U.S.\$13,832,128 The State Treasury of Vietnam Credit Linked Notes

due 15 January 2011

(Stock Code: 4304)

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

(Registered and incorporated in Hong Kong: Number 263876)

as Issuer

pursuant to its

U.S.\$20,000,000,000 Medium Term Note Programme

Programme Arranger and Dealer

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Amendment Notice

Reference is made to our announcement dated 4 September 2008 (the **Announcement**) in relation to the U.S.\$13,832,128 The State Treasury of Vietnam Credit Linked Notes due 15 January 2011 (the **Notes**) issued by The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited on 25 January 2008 under the U.S.\$20,000,000,000 Medium Term Note Programme of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited and HSBC Markets (Bahamas) Limited listed on 9 September 2008.

Investors should note that the issue size of the Notes was erroneously set out in the Announcement, and should have been U.S.\$3,044,857.

Subject to this Amendment Notice, all other information contained in the Announcement remains unchanged.

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited are Laura Cha May Lung, SBS*, Dr Raymond Ch'ien Kuo Fung, GBS, CBE*, Vincent Cheng Hoi Chuen, GBS, OBE, Alexander Andrew Flockhart, CBE, Dr William Fung Kwok Lun, OBE*, Michael Francis Geoghegan, CBE, Stephen Keith Green, Stuart Thomson Gulliver, Victor Li Tzar Kuoi*, Dr Lo Ka-Shui, GBS*, Zia Mody*, Raymond Or Ching Fai, Andreas Sohmen-Pao*, Christopher Dale Pratt*, Thomas Brian Stevenson, SBS*, Dr Patrick Wang Shui Chung*, David Wei Zhe*, Peter Wong Tung Shun, Dr Rosanna Wong Yick-ming, DBE*, and Marjorie Yang Mun Tak*.

^{*} Non-executive Directors of the Bank