The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
(The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited)
(Stock Code: 2356)

## **Profit Warning**

This announcement is made by the Board of Directors ("Board") of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited (the "Company") pursuant to Rule 13.09 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Board announces that it expects its financial performance for the second half of 2008 to be lower due to the current financial turmoil and global economic slowdown.

Whilst the core business of the Company remains sound, the Company anticipates that in addition to the impairment provision in respect of its exposure to Washington Mutual Bank announced on 29 September 2008, the impact of the financial and economic conditions referred to above will impact the Company's credit quality and operating performance. As a result of these factors, the profit attributable to shareholders of the Company for the year ending 31 December 2008 is expected to decline substantially as compared with that for the year ended 31 December 2007.

Shareholders of the Company and potential investors are advised to exercise caution when dealing in the shares of the Company.

By Order of the Board

Dah Sing Banking Group Limited

H. L. Soo

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 5 November 2008

At the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Managing Director and Chief Executive), Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau as Executive Directors; Mr. Keisuke Tahara as Non-Executive Director; Messrs. John William Simpson, David Richard Hinde, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung and Seng-Lee Chan as Independent Non-Executive Directors.