

## 中國工商銀行股份有限公司

## INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

## RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the "Board") of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "Bank") has received the resignation from Mr. John L. Thornton ("Mr. Thornton"), an independent non-executive director of the Bank. Mr. Thornton resigned from the positions as an independent non-executive director of the Bank and a member of the strategy committee, audit committee, risk management committee, related party transactions control sub-committee and nomination and compensation committee of the Board due to other business commitments. The resignation of Mr. Thornton has been considered and approved by the meeting of the Board held on 19 November 2008 and became effective on the same date. Mr. Thornton has confirmed that there is no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders and creditors of the Bank.

Mr. Thornton performed his duties diligently and conscientiously since he joined the Board in 2005 and has made outstanding contributions in areas including corporate governance, operation of the Board, development strategy, risk control, business development and international and diversified operations of the Bank. The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Thornton for his outstanding contributions to the Bank during his tenure of service.

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

## 19 November 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Mr. ZHANG Furong and Mr. NIU Ximing as executive directors, Mr. FU Zhongjun, Mr. KANG Xuejun, Mr. SONG Zhigang, Mr. WANG Wenyan, Ms. ZHAO Haiying, Mr. ZHONG Jian'an and Mr. Christopher A. COLE as non-executive directors, Mr. LEUNG Kam Chung, Antony, Mr. QIAN Yingyi and Mr. XU Shanda as independent non-executive directors.