Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this document, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

Announcement on the Approval of Issuance of Subordinated Bonds by China Construction Bank Corporation

This announcement is published pursuant to rule 13.09(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The 2007 annual general meeting of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank"), which was held on 12 June 2008, approved the resolution of issuance of subordinated bonds in the principal amount of not more than RMB40 billion.

The Bank has recently received approvals from the China Banking Regulatory Commission entitled "The Approval of Relevant Matters Concerning the Issuance of Subordinated Bonds by China Construction Bank"《關於中國建設銀行發行次級債券有關事項的批覆》and from the People's Bank of China entitled "The Decision on Administrative Approval from the People's Bank of China"《准予行政許可決定書》, pursuant to which approvals were given to the Bank to issue subordinated bonds in the principal amount of not more than RMB40 billion in the domestic interbank bond markets.

With regard to the issuance of subordinated bonds, the Bank will perform its information disclosure obligation in accordance with relevant regulatory provisions.

Announcement of the captioned matter is hereby given.

By order of the board of directors

China Construction Bank Corporation

Zhang Jianguo

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

2 February 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo and Ms. Xin Shusen; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yonggang, Mr. Wang Yong, Ms. Wang Shumin, Mr. Liu Xianghui, Mr. Zhang Xiangdong, Ms. Li Xiaoling and Mr. Gregory L. Curl; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Song Fengming, Ms. Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Wong Kai-Man and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius.