Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

ANNOUNCEMENT

VOTING RESULTS OF 2009 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 26 March 2009

The board of directors (the "**Board**") of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "**Bank**") is pleased to announce that the 2009 first extraordinary general meeting of the Bank (the "**EGM**") was held at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, 26 March 2009 at No. 25 Finance Street, Xicheng District, Beijing, the People's Republic of China ("PRC"). The EGM was chaired by Mr. Guo Shuqing, Chairman of the Board of the Bank.

The number of issued shares of the Bank as at the date of the EGM was 233,689,084,000 shares, which was the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote on the resolutions proposed at the EGM. 14 shareholders of the Bank and authorised proxies holding an aggregate of 195,223,532,173 shares, representing 83.54% of the total voting shares of the Bank, were present at the EGM. The convening and procedures of the EGM was in compliance with the requirements of the laws and regulations of the PRC including the Company Law of the PRC and the provisions of the articles of association of the Bank ("Articles of Association").

The voting results in respect of the resolutions at the EGM were as follows:

| | Total number of votes | | | | | |
|---|--|-----------------|---------------|---------|--------------|--|
| | Special Resolution | For | Against | Abstain | Passing rate | |
| | | | | | (%) | |
| 1 | To consider and approve the | 190,279,257,179 | 4,819,169,044 | 19,000 | 97.529869% | |
| | proposed resolution on the | | | | | |
| | issuance of subordinated bonds. | | | | | |
| | As more than 2/3 of the votes were cast in favour of this resolution, the resolution was duly passed special resolution. | | | | | |

| | | Total number of votes | | | | | |
|----------------------------|---|-----------------------|------------|---------|------------------|--|--|
| Ordinary Resolution | | For | Against | Abstain | Passing rate (%) | | |
| 2 | To consider and approve the proposed resolution on supplying corporate communications to the holders of H-shares by means of the Bank's own website | | 49,700,000 | 16,000 | 99.974534% | | |
| | As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of this resolution, the resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution. | | | | | | |

Voting at the EGM was conducted by poll. Shareholders' representatives Mr. Zhang Xifang and Mr. Hao Wei, and Mr. Jin Panshi, supervisor of the Bank, were appointed by the Bank to count the votes at the EGM. Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the Bank's H Share registrar, was appointed by the Bank as the scrutineer for the voting at the EGM.

LAWYER'S CERTIFICATION

Commerce & Finance Law Offices have certified the EGM of the Bank and issued the legal opinion stating that the convening and procedures of the EGM, the number of attendees at the EGM, the qualifications of the entity convening the EGM, the submission and voting process and other relevant matters conformed to the Company Law of the PRC and other relevant laws and regulations as well as provisions of the Articles of Association. The resolutions of the EGM are legal and valid.

By order of the Board of Directors **China Construction Bank Corporation Zhang Jianguo** Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

26 March 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo and Ms. Xin Shusen; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yonggang, Mr. Wang Yong, Ms. Wang Shumin, Mr. Liu Xianghui, Mr. Zhang Xiangdong, Ms. Li Xiaoling and Mr. Gregory L. Curl; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Song Fengming, Ms. Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Wong Kai-Man and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius.