Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the 2008 annual general meeting of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") will be held at 9:00 a.m. on 11 June 2009 at No. 25, Finance Street, Xicheng District, Beijing, PRC to consider and, if thought fit, pass the following resolutions:

AS ORDINARY RESOLUTIONS

- 1. To consider and approve the 2008 report of the board of directors of the Bank;
- 2. To consider and approve the 2008 report of the board of supervisors of the Bank;
- 3. To consider and approve the Bank's 2008 final financial accounts;
- 4. To consider and approve 2009 fixed assets investment budget of the Bank;
- 5. To consider and approve the Bank's profit distribution plan for the second half of 2008;
- 6. To consider and approve 2008 final emoluments distribution plan for directors and supervisors;
- 7. To consider and approve the appointment of auditors of the Bank for 2009; and
- 8. To consider and approve the appointment of Mr. Chen Zuofu as Executive Director of the Bank.

By order of the Board
China Construction Bank Corporation
Zhang Jianguo

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

24 April 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo and Ms. Xin Shusen; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yonggang, Mr. Wang Yong, Ms. Wang Shumin, Mr. Liu Xianghui, Mr. Zhang Xiangdong, Ms. Li Xiaoling and Mr. Gregory L. Curl; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Song Fengming, Ms. Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Wong Kai-Man and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius.

Notes:

- 1. The voting at the 2008 Annual General Meeting shall be conducted in the form of open ballot.
- 2. In order to determine the Shareholders of the H-Shares who are entitled to attend the 2008 Annual General Meeting, the Bank's register of members will be closed from 12 May 2009 to 11 June 2009, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of H-Shares will be effected. Holders of H-Shares who wish to attend the 2008 Annual General Meeting must deposit the share certificates together with the transfer documents at the H-Share registrar of the Bank, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, at or before 4:30 p.m. on 11 May 2009. The address of the share registrar Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited is Rooms 1712–1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong.

In order to determine the Shareholders of the H-Shares who are entitled to receive 2008 final cash dividends, the Bank's register of members will be closed from 19 June 2009 to 23 June 2009, both days inclusive, during which period no transfer of H-Shares will be effected. Holders of H-Shares who wish to receive 2008 final cash dividends must deposit the share certificates together with the transfer documents at the H-Share registrar of the Bank, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, at or before 4:30 p.m. on 18 June 2009. The address of the share registrar Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited is Rooms 1712–1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong. The last trading day of the Bank's H-Shares before the ex-dividend date will be 16 June 2009, and the dividends shall be excluded from 17 June 2009. If approved, the 2008 final cash dividends will be paid around 8 July 2009 to the Shareholders.

- 3. A Shareholder entitled to attend and vote at this annual general meeting may appoint one proxy to attend and vote in his place. A proxy need not to be a Shareholder of the Bank.
- 4. The instrument appointing a proxy must be in writing under the hand of a Shareholder or his attorney duly authorized in writing. If the Shareholder is a corporation, that instrument must be either under its common seal or duly signed by its legal representative, director(s) or duly authorized attorney(s).
- 5. To be valid, holders of H-Shares who intend to attend the 2008 Annual General Meeting should complete and return the enclosed proxy form to Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited not less than 24 hours before the time fixed for holding the 2008 Annual General Meeting. The address is Room 1806–1807, 18th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong. Completion and return of the form of proxy will not preclude a Shareholder from attending and voting in person at this annual general meeting if he so wishes.
- 6. Holders of H-Shares who intend to attend this annual general meeting in person or by proxy should return the reply slip in person, by post or by fax to the H-Share registrar of the Bank, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited at Room 1806–1807, 18th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong on or before 21 May 2009 by hand, by mail or by fax (Fax: (852) 2865 0990).
- 7. This annual general meeting is expected to last for half a day. Shareholders (in person or by proxy) attending this annual general meeting are responsible for their own transportation and accommodation expenses. Shareholders or their proxies attending this annual general meeting shall be required to produce documents to prove their identity.