Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



Hunan Nonferrous Metals Corporation Limited* 湖南有色金屬股份有限公司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 2626)

ANNOUNCEMENT

Hunan Nonferrous Metals Corporation Limited (the "Company") announces that on 8 October 2009 at about 9:15a.m., an accident occurred due to two mine cages falling down from 7th middle stage to 25th middle stage (approximately 240 meters) at the No.2 shaft of south mine (南礦2號豎井) of Hsikwangshan Twinkling Star Antimony Co., Ltd. (錫礦山閃 星銻業有限責任公司), a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company, resulting in 26 persons dead and 5 persons injured. We express our mourning towards the affected people with deep grief and send our sincere condolences and regards to the injured and their relatives.

The Company is conducting a complete investigation of the causes behind this accident and the related matters. As the investigation has just commenced and is currently ongoing, the Company will continue to closely monitor and assess the situation with a view of evaluating its potential impact on the Company. When necessary, the Company will make further disclosure to comply with its obligations under the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

This announcement is made by the Company on a voluntary basis.

By Order of the Board Hunan Nonferrous Metals Corporation Limited* He Renchun *Chairman*

Changsha, the PRC, 8 October 2009

* for identification purpose only

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Messrs. He Renchun, Li li, Liao Luhai, and Chen Zhixin as executive directors, Messrs. Cao Xiuyun, Wu Longyun, Zhang Yixian, and Zou Jian as non-executive directors and Messrs. Gu Desheng, Chen Xiaohong, Kang Yi, Wan Tenlap and Choi Man Chau, Michael as independent non-executive directors.