Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



(a Sino-foreign joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China) (Stock Code: 902)

OVERSEAS REGULATORY ANNOUNCEMENT

APPROVAL OF THE NEW H SHARE ISSUE BY CHINA SECURITIES REGULATORY COMMISSION

This announcement is issued pursuant to Rule 13.09(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

For details of the background of the matters mentioned herein, please refer to the announcement and circular issued by Huaneng Power International, Inc. (the "Company") on 27 July 2010 and 6 August 2010, respectively.

The Company announced that it has on 26 November 2010 received the "Approval relating to the application for issuance of overseas listed shares by Huaneng Power International, Inc. (Zhengjian Xuke No. [2010]1700)" from China Securities Regulatory Commission ("CSRC"), pursuant to which CSRC approved the Company's private placement of not more than 500,000,000 overseas listed shares with a par value of RMB1.00 each, all of which are ordinary shares.

-1-

By Order of the Board Huaneng Power International, Inc. Gu Biquan Company Secretary As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are:

Cao Peixi (*Executive Director*) Huang Long (*Non-executive Director*) Wu Dawei (Non-executive Director) Huang Jian (Non-executive Director) Liu Guoyue (*Executive Director*) Fan Xiaxia (Executive Director) Shan Qunying (Non-executive Director) Xu Zujian (Non-executive Director) Huang Mingyuan (Non-executive Director) Liu Shuyuan (Non-executive Director)

Beijing, the PRC 1 December 2010 Liu Jipeng (Independent Non-executive Director) Yu Ning (Independent Non-executive Director) Shao Shiwei (Independent Non-executive Director) Zheng Jianchao (Independent Non-executive Director) Wu Liansheng (Independent Non-executive Director)