Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock Code: 1878)

CHANGE OF AUDITOR

SouthGobi Resources Ltd. (**TSX: SGQ, HK: 1878**). The board of directors of SouthGobi Resources Ltd. (the "Company") announces that Deloitte & Touche LLP ("Deloitte") resigned as auditors of the Company with effect from 2 April 2012. The Board also announces that PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, has been appointed as auditors of the Company with effect from 2 April 2012 following the resignation of Deloitte and to hold office until the conclusion of the next annual general meeting of the Company.

The Board, in accordance with National Instrument 51-102, confirmed that (1) Deloitte resigned on its own initiative, prior to the expiry of its terms of office; (2) Deloitte has not expressed any reservations in its report for the two most recently completed fiscal years of the Company or for any period subsequent to the last completed fiscal year; and (3) there is no "reportable events" as defined in Section 4.11 of National Instrument 51-102.

Deloitte agreed with the above statements (1), (2) and (3) in its letter to the various Securities Commissions and similar regulatory authorities in Canada dated 2 April 2012 as requested by the Company pursuant to Section 4.11, paragraph (5)(a)(ii) of National Instrument 51-102.

By order of the Board **SouthGobi Resources Ltd.**

Mr. Peter Graham Meredith Chairman

Hong Kong, 16 April 2012

As of the date of this announcement, the executive Director is Mr. Alexander Alan Molyneux, the non-executive Directors are Mr. Peter Graham Meredith and Mr. John Anthony Macken and the independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Pierre Bruno Lebel, Mr. Robert William Hanson, Mr. Andre Henry Deepwell, Mr. Gordon Lancaster, Mr. Raymond Edward Flood Jr. and Mr. Robert Stuart Angus.

* For identification purposes only