

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

Announcement

The financial results of CLP Holdings Limited ("CLP Holdings") for 2012 are expected to be adversely affected by (i) the lost generation capacity of the Yallourn Power Station as a result of the damage to the coal conveyors after flooding of the Yallourn coal mine in June 2012 and (ii) the cost of remediation work including diversion of the Morwell River ("the Yallourn Mine Incident").

Due to heavy rain across Gippsland in Victoria, Australia in June and a subsequent breach in the Morwell River Diversion, the coal mine of Yallourn was flooded. No injuries occurred during the flooding, but the conveyors to supply coal from the mine to Yallourn Power Station were damaged, resulting in reduced operation of the Yallourn Power Station. Remediation work is in progress in order to allow Yallourn Power Station to resume normal operations.

We have been undertaking a detailed study of the impact of this Yallourn Mine Incident on TRUenergy. The financial results of CLP Holdings for 2012 are expected to be adversely impacted. It is envisaged that the current study will take a few weeks to complete and that a further announcement of the impact of the Yallourn Mine Incident on the financial results of CLP Holdings for 2012 will then be made.

Investors are advised to exercise caution in dealing in shares of CLP Holdings.

This announcement is made by CLP Holdings pursuant to Rule 13.09 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By Order of the Board
April Chan
Company Secretary

CLP Holdings Limited

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 00002)

The Directors of CLP Holdings as at the date of this announcement are:

Non-executive Directors: The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie, Mr. William Mocatta,

Mr. R. J. McAulay, Mr. J. A. H. Leigh, Mr. I. D. Boyce, Dr. Y. B. Lee, Mr. Peter P. W. Tse and Mr. Paul A. Theys

(Mr. James F. Muschalik as Mr. Theys' alternate)

Independent Non-executive Directors: Mr. V. F. Moore, Professor Judy Tsui, Sir Rod Eddington,

Mr. Nicholas C. Allen and Mr. Vincent Cheng

Executive Directors: Mr. Andrew Brandler and Mr. Peter W. Greenwood