Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1288)

ANNOUNCEMENT ON THE COMPLETION OF THE INVESTMENT IN JIAHE LIFE INSURANCE CO., LTD.

Reference is made to the announcement dated 11 February 2011 on the resolution of the board of directors (the "Board") of Agricultural Bank of China Limited (the "Bank"), in which the Board resolved to acquire 1,036,653,061 newly-issued shares of Jiahe Life Insurance Co., Ltd. ("Jiahe Life") at a consideration of approximately RMB2,592 million (the "Transaction").

The Bank had obtained all the necessary regulatory approvals regarding the Transaction and completed the Transaction on 31 December 2012. Jiahe Life has recently completed the change of its filing records at the relevant administration for industry and commerce, and has been renamed as ABC Life Insurance Co., Ltd. ("ABC Life").

As at the date of this announcement, the Bank holds 51% equity interest in ABC Life and thereby becomes its controlling shareholder, while each of the original shareholders of Jiahe Life, namely Beijing Zhong Guan Cun Science City Construction Holding Co., Ltd., Chongqing International Trust Co., Ltd., China New Era Co., Ltd., China Sigma Co., Ltd. and Shanghai An Shang Industrial Co., Ltd. holds 9.8% equity interest in ABC Life, respectively.

By Order of the Board

Agricultural Bank of China Limited

LI Zhenjiang

Company Secretary

Beijing, the PRC 7 January 2013

As at the date of this announcement, our executive directors are Mr. JIANG Chaoliang, Mr. ZHANG Yun, Mr. GUO Haoda and Mr. LOU Wenlong; our non-executive directors are Mr. SHEN Bingxi, Mr. LIN Damao, Mr. CHENG Fengchao, Mr. LI Yelin, Mr. XIAO Shusheng and Mr. ZHAO Chao; and our independent non-executive directors are Mr. Anthony WU Ting-yuk, Mr. QIU Dong, Mr. Frederick MA Si-hang and Mr. WEN Tiejun.