Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(the "Bank")

(Stock Code: 3988)

ANNOUNCEMENT

Resignation of Chairman of the Board

Due to the needs of national financial work, Mr. Xiao Gang has rendered his resignation from his positions as the Chairman of the Board of Directors, Executive Director, Chairman and member of the Strategic Development Committee of the Board of Directors of the Bank. The resignation shall become effective as of 17 March 2013.

Mr. Xiao Gang has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board of Directors of the Bank, and there are no matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Board of Directors of the Bank would like to express sincere gratitude and high praise to Mr. Xiao Gang for his excellent contribution to the Bank's development during his term of office.

By Order of the Board Bank of China Limited YEUNG Cheung Ying Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC 17 March 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Bank are: Li Lihui, Li Zaohang, Wang Yongli, Sun Zhijun*, Liu Lina*, Jiang Yansong*, Zhang Xiangdong*, Zhang Qi*, Anthony Francis Neoh*, Huang Shizhong*, Huang Danhan*, Chow Man Yiu, Paul*, Jackson Tai* and Nout Wellink*.

^{*} Non-executive Directors

[#] Independent Non-executive Directors