

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 293)

Board Changes

Christopher Pratt has indicated his intention to retire as Chairman and a Director of Cathay Pacific Airways Limited ("Cathay Pacific"). His retirement will take effect when the 2013 results of Cathay Pacific are announced in March 2014. John Slosar, currently Chief Executive of Cathay Pacific, will succeed Mr. Pratt as Chairman of Cathay Pacific. Ivan Chu, currently Chief Operating Officer of Cathay Pacific, will succeed Mr. Slosar as Chief Executive of Cathay Pacific.

Mr. Pratt, 57, has worked for the Swire group for 35 years. He has been Chairman and a Director of Cathay Pacific since 1st February 2006. The Board of Cathay Pacific would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. Pratt for his long and distinguished service to Cathay Pacific and to wish him well for the future.

Mr. Slosar, 57, has worked for the Swire group for 33 years. He has been a Director of Swire Pacific Limited (of which Cathay Pacific is an associated company) since 12th May 2006, a Director of Cathay Pacific since 1st July 2007 and the Chief Executive of Cathay Pacific since 31st March 2011.

Mr. Chu, aged 51, has worked for Cathay Pacific for 29 years. He has been a Director and the Chief Operating Officer of Cathay Pacific since 31st March 2011.

This announcement is issued by Cathay Pacific pursuant to Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. A formal announcement under Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited relating to Mr. Pratt's retirement as Chairman and a Director, Mr. Slosar's redesignation as Chairman and Mr. Chu's redesignation as Chief Executive will be made when the retirement and the redesignations take effect.

Investors are advised to exercise caution in dealing in shares of Cathay Pacific.



As at the date of this announcement, the Directors of Cathay Pacific are:

Executive Directors: Christopher Pratt (Chairman), James Barrington, Ivan Chu, Martin Murray and John Slosar;

Non-Executive Directors: Cai Jianjiang, Fan Cheng, James W.J. Hughes-Hallett, Peter Kilgour, Ian Shiu, Merlin Swire, Wang Changshun and Zhao Xiaohang; and

Independent Non-Executive Directors: Irene Lee, Jack So, Tung Chee Chen and Peter Wong.

By Order of the Board **Cathay Pacific Airways Limited** David Fu Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 16th August 2013