Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 966)

ANNOUNCEMENT

This announcement is made pursuant to Rules 13.51(2)(s) and 13.51B(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Reference is made to the announcement of China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited (the "Company") dated 31 December 2013 in relation to a decision by the Disciplinary Committee (the "Committee") of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (the "Institute") regarding Mr. Wu Ting Yuk, Anthony ("Mr. Wu"), an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company.

According to a press release of the Institute dated 23 July 2014, the Committee ordered the removal of the name of Mr. Wu from the register of certified public accountants for a period of two years, and payment to the Institute of a penalty of HK\$250,000. In addition, Mr. Wu and other respondents were in total ordered to pay the costs of the disciplinary and investigation proceedings of HK\$2,000,000.

Based on the information available to the Company, the Company is of the view that, as at the date of this announcement, the Company's business, operation and financial status have not been affected.

By order of the Board of
China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited
ZHANG Ruohan CHAN Man Ko

Joint Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 24 July 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises 10 directors, of which Mr. WANG Bin, Mr. MENG Zhaoyi and Mr. XIE Yiqun are executive directors, Mr. HUANG Weijian, Mr. ZHU Xiangwen, Mr. WU Changming and Mr. NI Rongming are non-executive directors and Dr. WU Jiesi, Mr. CHE Shujian and Mr. WU Ting Yuk Anthony are independent non-executive directors.

This announcement is posted on the website of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited at www.hkexnews.hk and on the website of the Company at www.ctih.cntaiping.com.