Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CHINA COAL ENERGY COMPANY LIMITED*

中國中煤能源股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock code: 01898)

RESIGNATION OF DIRECTOR

The board of directors (the **"Board"**) of China Coal Energy Company Limited (the **"Company"**) hereby announces that the Board has received the resignation letter of Mr. Zhou Qinye (**"Mr. Zhou"**) on 24 October 2014. According to the regulations and requirements of relevant governmental authorities, Mr. Zhou has resigned from his position as an independent non-executive director of the Company, and accordingly has ceased to be a member of the strategic planning committee, a member and the chairman of the audit committee, and a member of the remuneration committee under the Board, with effect from 24 October 2014.

Mr. Zhou has confirmed that he had neither disagreement nor unsettled issues with the Board and there were no other matters in relation to his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

Mr. Zhou has held an independent and fair position and has always been diligent and responsible during his term as an independent non-executive director of the Company. He has played a positive role in promoting the scientific decision-making of the Board as well as standardizing the operation of the Company. The Board hereby expresses its sincere appreciation to Mr. Zhou for his contribution to the development of the Company.

By Order of the Board **China Coal Energy Company Limited Wang An** *Chairman of the Board, Executive Director*

Beijing, the PRC

24 October 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Wang An and Yang Lieke; the non-executive directors of the Company are Li Yanjiang, Li Yanmeng and Peng Yi; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Zhang Jiaren, Zhao Pei, and Ngai Wai Fung.

* For identification purpose only