Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)
(the "Bank")

(Stock Code: 3988 and 4601 (Preference Shares))

## **ANNOUNCEMENT**

## APPOINTMENT OF THE CHIEF AUDIT OFFICER OF THE BANK

The board of directors of the Bank approved the appointment of Mr. Xiao Wei as the Chief Audit Officer of the Bank on 12 June 2014. China Banking Regulatory Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Xiao Wei.

From 28 November 2014, Mr. Xiao Wei has begun to serve as the Chief Audit Officer of the Bank, and Ms. Liu Yanfen ceased to serve as the Chief Audit Officer of the Bank.

The biographic details of Mr. Xiao Wei are as follows:

Mr. Xiao Wei was born in 1960, and has been serving as the General Manager of the Financial Management Department of the Bank since November 2009. After joining the Bank in 1994, Mr. Xiao worked in the Financing and Accounting Department of the Headquarters for many years, and successively served as the Assistant General Manager and the Deputy General Manager of the Assetand-Liability Management Department of the Headquarters from December 1999 to May 2004. Mr. Xiao served as the temporary Deputy General Manager of the Beijing Branch of the Bank from

November 2002 to May 2004, and served as the Deputy General Manager of the Beijing Branch of the Bank from May 2004 to November 2009. He also concurrently served as the Chief Financial Officer of the Beijing Branch of the Bank from January 2007 to November 2009. Mr. Xiao obtained a Doctorate's Degree in Economics from Renmin University of China in July 1994. He holds the title of Senior Accountant.

By Order of the Board
Bank of China Limited
YEUNG Cheung Ying
Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC 28 November 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Bank are: Tian Guoli, Chen Siqing, Li Zaohang, Sun Zhijun\*, Zhang Xiangdong\*, Zhang Qi\*, Wang Yong\*, Wang Wei\*, Liu Xianghui\*, Chow Man Yiu, Paul\*, Jackson Tai\*, Nout Wellink\*, Lu Zhengfei\* and Leung Cheuk Yan\*.

- \* Non-executive directors
- # Independent non-executive directors