Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國太平保險控股有限公司

China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 966)

## ANNOUNCEMENT

## EXTENSION OF TIME FOR APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Company has applied for, and the Stock Exchange has granted, a waiver and an extension of time to the Company from strict compliance with Rules 3.10A and 3.21 of the Listing Rules until 26 April 2015.

Reference is made to the announcement of China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited (the "**Company**") dated 27 October 2014. Following the resignation of Mr. Che Shujian ("**Mr. Che**") on 27 October 2014, the number of independent non-executive directors of the Company ("**INEDs**") has reduced from four to three, falling below one-third of the board of directors of the Company (the "**Board**") as required under Rule 3.10A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Listing Rules**"). Mr. Che was also a member of the audit committee of the Company and the vacancy thereof resulted in the non-fulfillment of the requirements under Rules 3.21 of the Listing Rules by the Company.

In view of the time required for identifying suitable candidate for INED and its appointment, the Company has applied for, and the Stock Exchange has granted, a waiver and an extension of time to the Company from strict compliance with Rules 3.10A and 3.21 of the Listing Rules in respect of the number of INEDs and members of the audit committee of the Company until 26 April 2015.

The Company will use its best endeavours to identify and appoint a new INED within the extended period and will make announcement as and when appropriate.

By order of the Board of China Taiping Insurance Holdings Company Limited ZHANG Ruohan CHAN Man Ko Joint Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 26 January 2015

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises 11 directors, of which Mr. WANG Bin, Mr. LI Jinfu, Mr. MENG Zhaoyi, Mr. XIE Yiqun are executive directors, Mr. HUANG Weijian, Mr. ZHU Xiangwen, Mr. WU Changming and Mr. NI Rongming are non-executive directors and Dr. WU Jiesi, Mr. ZHU Dajian and Mr. WU Ting Yuk Anthony are independent non-executive directors.

This announcement is posted on the website of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited at <u>www.hkexnews.hk</u> and on the website of the Company at <u>www.ctih.cntaiping.com</u>.