Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



 $(a\ Sino-foreign\ joint\ stock\ limited\ company\ incorporated\ in\ the\ People's\ Republic\ of\ China)$

(Stock Code: 902)

OVERSEAS REGULATORY ANNOUNCEMENT LUOYANG CO-GENERATION AND PHOTOVOLTAIC UNITS IN SI'AN COMMENCE OPERATION

This announcement is published pursuant to Rule 13.10B of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Huaneng Power International Inc. (the "Company") announces that a coal-fired generation unit with a capacity of 350 MW of Huaneng Luoyang Co-generation Co. Ltd. (in which the Company owns 51% equity interests) has recently commenced operation.

Meanwhile, the 5 MW photovoltaic (PV) units out of a total of 10 MW distributed PV modules project of Zhejiang Si'an Power Plant (which is wholly owned by the Company) have recently commenced operation. The project has achieved full operation.

To-date, the Company's controlled generation capacity increases from 78,693 MW to 79,048 MW and the equity based generation capacity increases from 70,736 MW to 70,919 MW.

By Order of the Board

Huaneng Power International, Inc.

Du Daming

Company Secretary

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are:

Cao Peixi

(Executive Director)

Guo Junming

(Non-executive Director)

Liu Guoyue

(Executive Director)

Li Shiqi

(Non-executive Director)

Huang Jian

(Non-executive Director)

Fan Xiaxia

(Executive Director)

Mi Dabin

(Non-executive Director)

Guo Hongbo

(Non-executive Director)

Xu Zujian

(Non-executive Director)

Li Song

(Non-executive Director)

Beijing, the PRC

22 May 2015

Li Zhensheng

(Independent Non-executive Director)

Qi Yudong

(Independent Non-executive Director)

Zhang Shouwen

(Independent Non-executive Director)

Yue Heng

(Independent Non-executive Director)

Zhang Lizi

(Independent Non-executive Director)