Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a Sino-foreign joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China) (Stock Code: 902)

OVERSEAS REGULATORY ANNOUNCEMENT ANNOUNCEMENT ON PROGRESS OF PROJECT

This announcement is issued pursuant to Rule 13.10B of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Huaneng Power International Inc. (the "Company") announces that the 660 MW coal-fired generation unit No. 1 of the "Closing down smaller generation units and replaced with bigger ones" project of Jiangxi Huaneng Anyuan Power Plant (which is wholly-owned by the Company) has recently put into operation. The No.1 generation unit of the "Closing down smaller generation units and replaced the bigger ones" project of Anyuan is the first double-reheat ultra-supercritical generation unit which is put into operation in China and has met all the designed specifications. Double reheat technology represents the most advanced power generation technology in the current world, and double-reheat units have the advantages of higher efficiency, lower consumption and less emissions over singlereheat ones.

To-date, the Company's controlled generation capacity has increased from 79,468 MW to 80,128 MW, and the equity generation capacity has increased from 71,168 MW to 71,828 MW.

By Order of the Board Huaneng Power International, Inc. Du Daming Company Secretary As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are:

Cao Peixi (Executive Director) Guo Junming (Non-executive Director) Liu Guoyue (*Executive Director*) Li Shiqi (Non-executive Director) Huang Jian (Non-executive Director) Fan Xiaxia (Executive Director) Mi Dabin (Non-executive Director) Guo Hongbo (Non-executive Director) Zhu Yousheng (Non-executive Director) Li Song (Non-executive Director)

Beijing, the PRC 1 July 2015

Li Zhensheng (Independent Non-executive Director) Zhang Shouwen (Independent Non-executive Director) Yue Heng (Independent Non-executive Director) Geng Jianxin (Independent Non-executive Director) Xia Qing (Independent Non-executive Director)