Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

NANYANG HOLDINGS LIMITED

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 212)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board (the "Board") of directors (the "Directors") of Nanyang Holdings Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Kwan Wing Kwong Zachary has been appointed as an independent non-executive Director ("INED") with effect from 2 September 2015. Mr. Kwan has also been appointed as Chairman of the remuneration committee ("Remuneration Committee"), member of the audit committee and member of the nomination committee of the Company with effect from the same date.

Mr. Kwan Wing Kwong Zachary, aged 62, has over 38 years of experience in the banking industry in Hong Kong. During the period from April 1976 to June 2013, Mr. Kwan worked in Shanghai Commercial Bank Limited and held various positions including Manager of Bills Department, Manager of certain branches and Head of Human Resources & Administration. He retired from Shanghai Commercial Bank Limited in June 2013.

Mr. Kwan completed the Joint Diploma in Management Studies jointly organized by The Hong Kong Management Association and The Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 1997.

Mr. Kwan has confirmed that he meets the independence criteria as set out in Rule 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Listing Rules**").

Mr. Kwan was appointed for an initial term of three years commencing from 2 September 2015 subject to retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the bye-laws of the Company. No service contract has been entered into between Mr. Kwan and the Company. Mr. Kwan is entitled to receive an annual director's fee of HK\$360,000, which has been determined by reference to the recommendations of the Remuneration Committee.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Kwan does not have any interest or short position in the shares, underlying shares or debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Mr. Kwan has not held any directorship in any Hong Kong or overseas listed public companies in the last three years. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Kwan does not have any relationship with any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholder(s) (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Company nor does he hold any position in the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

Mr. Kwan confirmed that there is no other information relating to him that is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rules 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Listing Rules and there are no other matters which need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in connection with his appointment.

The Board would like to extend its warmest welcome to Mr. Kwan for joining the Board.

NUMBER OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS SATISFY THE REQUIREMENTS UNDER THE LISTING RULES

As disclosed in the Company's announcement dated 22 June 2015, as a result of the passing of Mr. James Julius Bertram on 18 June 2015, the number of INEDs fell below the minimum number of INEDs prescribed under the Listing Rules. Following the appointment of Mr. Kwan as an INED, the Company is in compliance with the relevant requirements under the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board **Rudolf Bischof** *Chairman*

Hong Kong, 2 September 2015

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises seven Directors as follows:

Executive Directors:
Hung Ching Yung, JP (Managing Director)
Lincoln C. K. Yung, JP, FHKIB
(Deputy Managing Director)
Jennie Chen (Financial Controller)

Independent non-executive Directors: Rudolf Bischof (Chairman) Robert T. T. Sze Kwan Wing Kwong Zachary

Non-executive Director: John Con-sing Yung