Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness, and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Telecom Corporation Limited 中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 728)

RESIGNATION OF MR. CHANG XIAOBING AS CHAIRMAN AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER AS WELL AS ARRANGEMENT FOR EXERCISE OF RELEVANT POWERS

We refer to the announcement made by China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "**Company**") on 27 December 2015 in relation to Mr. Chang Xiaobing being under investigation.

The board of directors (the "**Board**") of the Company hereby announces that Mr. Chang Xiaobing has resigned from his positions as the executive director, chairman and chief executive officer of the Company, with effect from 30 December 2015. Mr. Chang has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no other matter in relation to his resignation that should be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board has resolved that Mr. Yang Jie, the executive director, president and chief operating officer of the Company, will exercise the powers of the chairman and chief executive officer with effect from 30 December 2015 until new appointment is made by the Board.

By Order of the Board China Telecom Corporation Limited Chu Ka Yee

Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC, 30 December 2015

As of the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company consists of Mr. Yang Jie (exercising the powers of the chairman and chief executive officer; as the president and chief operating officer); Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Yang Xiaowei, Mr. Sun Kangmin and Mr. Ke Ruiwen (all as the executive vice presidents); Mr. Zhu Wei (as the non-executive director); and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius, Madam Cha May Lung, Laura, Mr. Xu Erming and Madam Wang Hsuehming (all as the independent non-executive directors).