Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



### 微創醫療科學有限公司\*

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)

(Stock code: 853)

#### (1) POLL RESULTS OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 27 JUNE 2016

# (2) RETIREMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, CESSATION AS CHAIRMAN OF NOMINATION COMMITTEE AND MEMBER OF AUDIT COMMITTEE

# (3) NON-COMPLIANCE WITH RULE 3.10(1), RULE 3.10A AND RULE 3.21 OF THE LISTING RULES

#### (1) POLL RESULTS OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 27 JUNE 2016

At the annual general meeting (the "AGM") of MicroPort Scientific Corporation (the "Company") held on 27 June 2016, all the proposed resolutions as set out in the notice of the AGM dated 13 May 2016 were taken by poll. The poll results are as follows:

|       |   | Number of Votes (%)         |                            |
|-------|---|-----------------------------|----------------------------|
|       | Ordinary Resolutions  | For                         | Against                    |
| 1.    | To receive the audited consolidated financial statements and the reports of the directors and auditors for the year ended 31 December 2015. | 712,613,715<br>(99.985408%) | 104,000<br>(0.014592%)     |
| 2(a). | To re-elect Ms Weiwei Chen as non-executive director.   | 619,840,737<br>(86.968617%) | 92,876,978<br>(13.031383%) |
| 2(b). | To re-elect Ms Janine Junyuan Feng as non-executive director.   | 619,840,737<br>(86.968617%) | 92,876,978<br>(13.031383%) |

|       |   | Number of Votes (%)         |                            |
|-------|---|-----------------------------|----------------------------|
|       | Ordinary Resolutions  | For                         | Against                    |
| 2(c). | To re-elect Mr Jonathan H. Chou as independent non-executive director.  | 703,494,715<br>(98.705939%) | 9,223,000<br>(1.294061%)   |
| 2(d). | To re-elect Dr Guoen Liu as independent non-executive director.   | 703,494,715<br>(98.705939%) | 9,223,000<br>(1.294061%)   |
| 2(e). | To authorize the board of directors to fix the respective directors' remuneration.  | 711,509,715<br>(99.835971%) | 1,169,000<br>(0.164029%)   |
| 3.    | To re-appoint KPMG as auditors and to authorize the board of directors to fix their remuneration.   | 711,604,715<br>(99.843837%) | 1,113,000<br>(0.156163%)   |
| 4.    | To give a general mandate to the directors to buy back shares of the Company not exceeding 10% of the total number of issued shares of the Company as at the date of passing of this resolution.                              | 712,613,715<br>(99.985408%) | 104,000<br>(0.014592%)     |
| 5.    | To give a general mandate to the directors to issue, allot and deal with additional shares of the Company not exceeding 20% of the total number of issued shares of the Company as at the date of passing of this resolution. | 621,828,690<br>(87.247542%) | 90,889,025<br>(12.752458%) |
| 6.    | To extend the general mandate granted to the directors to issue, allot and deal with additional shares in the capital of the Company by the aggregate number of the shares bought back by the Company.                        | 622,116,690<br>(87.287951%) | 90,601,025<br>(12.712049%) |

#### Notes:

- (a) As a majority of the votes were cast in favour of each of the resolutions numbered 1 to 6, all resolutions were duly passed as ordinary resolutions.
- (b) As at the date of the AGM, the total number of shares of the Company in issue was 1,431,751,160 shares.
- (c) The total number of shares of the Company entitling the holder to attend and vote on the resolutions at the AGM was 1,431,751,160 shares.

- (d) As stated in the Company's circular dated 13 May 2016, Owap Investment Pte Ltd and its associates who together controlled or were entitled to control over the voting rights in respect of an aggregate of 9,687,000 shares, representing approximately 0.68% of the issued share capital of the Company, were required to abstain from voting on the resolution no. 5 at the AGM and accordingly abstained from voting on such resolution at the AGM. As a result, only shareholders holding a total of 1,422,064,160 shares were entitled to attend and vote for or against resolution no. 5 at the AGM.
- (e) Save as disclosed above, there were no shares entitling the holder to attend and abstain from voting in favour of the resolutions at the AGM as set out in rule 13.40 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").
- (f) None of the shareholders of the Company have stated their intention in the Company's circular dated 13 May 2016 to vote against or to abstain from voting on any of the resolutions at the AGM.
- (g) The Company's branch share registrar in Hong Kong, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, acted as the scrutineer for the vote-taking at the AGM.

# (2) RETIREMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CESSATION AS CHAIRMAN OF NOMINATION COMMITTEE AND MEMBER OF AUDIT COMMITTEE

The board of directors ("Board") announces that Mr Zezhao Hua ("Mr Hua"), an independent non-executive director of the Company, retired by rotation at the AGM and did not offer himself for re-election as a director for personal health reasons. Accordingly, he ceased to act as chairman of nomination committee and member of audit committee. Mr Hua has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there is no matter in relation to his retirement that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to express its gratitude to Mr Hua for his valuable efforts and contributions to the Company during his tenure of office.

## (3) NON-COMPLIANCE WITH RULE 3.10(1), RULE 3.10A AND RULE 3.21 OF THE LISTING RULES

Upon retirement of Mr Hua as an independent non-executive director, the Board comprises one executive director, four non-executive directors and two independent non-executive directors. As a result, the number of independent non-executive directors and the Audit Committee members fell below the minimum number and other relevant requirements under Rule 3.10(1), Rule 3.10A and Rule 3.21 of the Listing Rules.

The Company is endeavouring to identify suitable candidate(s) to fill the vacancies as soon as practicable, with the relevant appointment to be made within three months from the date of this announcement to meet the requirements under the Listing Rules. The Company will make further announcement as and when appropriate.

By Order of the Board

MicroPort Scientific Corporation

Dr Zhaohua Chang

Chairman

Shanghai, the People's Republic of China, 27 June 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Company are:

Executive director: Dr Zhaohua Chang

Non-executive directors: Mr Norihiro Ashida Mr Hiroshi Shirafuji Ms Weiwei Chen Ms Janine Junyuan Feng

Independent non-executive directors: Mr Jonathan H. Chou Dr Guoen Liu