Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

Nanyang Holdings Limited

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) (Stock code: 212)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The board (the "**Board**") of directors (the "**Directors**") of Nanyang Holdings Limited (the "**Company**") is pleased to announce that Mr. Wong Chi Kwong Patrick ("**Mr. Wong**") has been appointed as an independent non-executive director ("**INED**") with effect from 24 October 2016. Mr. Wong has also been appointed as member of the remuneration committee, member of the audit committee and member of the nomination committee with effect from the same date.

Mr. Wong, aged 55, holds a bachelor degree in laws from University of London. In 1992, Mr. Wong was admitted as a solicitor in Hong Kong and was also admitted as a solicitor in England & Wales in 1994. He was a partner of Mayer Brown JSM (formerly Johnston Stokes & Master) from 1996 to 2015 with which he had practised for over 20 years. His personal practice focuses on the corporate finance and Hong Kong listed company related work.

Mr. Wong is currently a director of Lingnan Education Organization Limited and The Applied Research Council of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. He is also a council member of Hong Kong Productivity Council and a member of the Board of Trustees of City University of Hong Kong Superannuation Scheme B (1998). Mr. Wong has served on the Company Law Committee of the Law Society of Hong Kong and is also a sponsoring body manager of Lingnan Dr. Chung Wing Kwong Memorial Secondary School.

Mr. Wong has confirmed that he meets the independence criteria as set in Rules 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

Mr. Wong was appointed for an initial term of three years commencing from 24 October 2016 subject to retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the bye-laws of the Company. No services contract has been entered into between Mr. Wong and the Company. Mr. Wong is entitled to receive an annual director's fee of HK\$360,000, which has been determined by reference to the recommendations of the Remuneration Committee.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Wong does not have any interests or short position in the shares, underlying shares or debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance, (Cap 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Mr. Wong has not held any directorship in any Hong Kong or overseas listed public companies in the last three years. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Wong does not have any relationship with any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholder(s) (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Company nor does he hold any position in the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

Mr. Wong confirmed that there is no other information relating to him that is required to be disclosed pursuant to Rules 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Listing Rules and there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in connection with his appointment as an INED of the Company.

The Board would like to extend its warmest welcome to Mr. Wong for joining the Board.

By Order of the Board **Rudolf Bischof** *Chairman*

Hong Kong, 24 October 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises eight Directors as follows:-

Executive Directors: Hung Ching Yung, JP (Managing Director) Lincoln C. K. Yung, JP, FHKIB (Deputy Managing Director) Jennie Chen (Financial Controller)

Non-Executive Director: John Con-sing Yung

Independent Non-Executive Directors: Rudolf Bischof (Chairman) Robert T. T. Sze Kwan Wing Kwong Zachary Wong Chi Kwong Patrick