Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CITIC Limited 中國中信股份有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 00267)

INSIDE INFORMATION ANNOUNCEMENT

LEGAL PROCEEDINGS INVOLVING THE COMPANY

This announcement is made by CITIC Limited (the "Company") pursuant to Rule 13.09(2)(a) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Inside Information Provisions under Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Reference is made to the previous announcement of the Company dated 12 September 2014. The Securities and Futures Commission (the "SFC") had announced on 11 September 2014 that it had commenced proceedings in the Court of First Instance of the High Court of Hong Kong and the Market Misconduct Tribunal (the "MMT Proceedings"), respectively, against the Company and five of its former executive directors. In summary, the SFC alleged that the Company and the former directors had engaged in market misconduct involving the disclosure of false or misleading information about the Company's financial position in connection with losses that the Company had suffered through its investment in the leveraged foreign exchange contracts.

The hearing in the MMT Proceedings was completed in July 2016. On 10 April 2017, the Market Misconduct Tribunal ("MMT") handed down its decision determining that, in the publication of the Company's circular on 12 September 2008, no market misconduct within the meaning of section 277(1) of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571) took place. The Company welcomes the MMT's decision.

By Order of the Board CITIC Limited Chang Zhenming Chairman

Hong Kong, 10 April 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Mr Chang Zhenming (Chairman), Mr Wang Jiong, Ms Li Qingping and Mr Pu Jian; the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr Yang Jinming, Mr Liu Yeqiao, Mr Song Kangle, Ms Yan Shuqin, Mr Liu Zhongyuan and Mr Yang Xiaoping; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Mr Francis Siu Wai Keung, Dr Xu Jinwu, Mr Anthony Francis Neoh, Ms Lee Boo Jin, Mr Noriharu Fujita and Mr Paul Chow Man Yiu.