Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 01988)

(USD Preference Shares Stock Code: 04609)

ANNOUNCEMENT

Recently, China Minsheng Banking Corp., Ltd. (the "Company") discovered that Zhang Ying, the president of Hangtianqiao sub-branch of the Beijing branch of the Company, was suspected of illegal conduct and the Company immediately reported the case to the police department. Currently, Zhang Ying is under investigation by the police department. The Company has set up a working group to proactively assist the police department in their investigation. The amount involved and the specific facts of the case as reported by certain media are still under investigation. The Company will endeavour to find out the truth as soon as practicable so as to safeguard the funds and capital of the Company's clients to the greatest extent possible, properly settle appeals and claims from each party and bear the relevant responsibilities in accordance with the law.

The Company will perform its obligation of timely information disclosure in strict compliance with the laws and regulations in order to protect the interests of its public investors.

As present, the Company's business is operating as usual.

By Order of the Board
CHINA MINSHENG BANKING CORP., LTD.
Hong Qi
Chairman

Beijing, PRC 18 April 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Mr. Hong Qi, Mr. Liang Yutang and Mr. Zheng Wanchun; the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Zhang Hongwei, Mr. Lu Zhiqiang, Mr. Liu Yonghao, Mr. Shi Yuzhu, Mr. Wu Di, Mr. Yao Dafeng, Mr. Song Chunfeng, Mr. Tian Zhiping and Mr. Weng Zhenjie; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Liu Jipeng, Mr. Li Hancheng, Mr. Xie Zhichun, Mr. Cheng Hoi-chuen, Mr. Peng Xuefeng and Mr. Liu Ningyu.