Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 6837)

UPDATE ANNOUNCEMENT ON APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

References are made to the announcements of Haitong Securities Co., Ltd. (the "**Company**") dated 12 May 2017 and 26 May 2017 in relation to the resignation of a non-executive director, the circular dated 16 May 2017 and the poll results of annual general meeting dated 6 June 2017, in relation to, among others, the proposed appointment of a non-executive director.

As previously disclosed, the proposed appointment of Mr. Wu Yuezhou ("**Mr. Wu**") as a nonexecutive director of the Company has been approved at the annual general meeting of the Company for the year 2016 convened on 6 June 2017, subject only to the regulatory authorities' approval on his qualification for appointment.

Recently, the Company has received Reply of Approval on Qualification of Wu Yuezhou as Director of Securities Company (Hu Zheng Jian Xu Ke [2017] No. 73) from the Shanghai Securities Regulatory Bureau of the China Securities Regulatory Commission, pursuant to which, Mr. Wu's qualification as a director of securities company has been approved. As such, the appointment of Mr. Wu as a non-executive director has taken effect from 18 August 2017, and his term of office shall be the same as the sixth session of the board of directors of the Company.

By order of the Board Haitong Securities Co., Ltd. ZHOU Jie Chairman

Shanghai, the PRC 18 August 2017

As at the date of this announcement, our executive directors are Mr. ZHOU Jie and Mr. QU Qiuping; our non-executive directors are Ms. YU Liping, Mr. CHEN Bin, Mr. XU Jianguo, Mr. WU Yuezhou, Ms. ZHANG Xinmei and Mr. SHEN Tiedong; and our independent non-executive directors are Mr. LIU Cheeming, Mr. XIAO Suining, Dr. Lam Lee G., Mr. ZHANG Ming and Mr. FENG Lun.

* For identification purpose only