Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



19 October 2017

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC THIRD INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2017 SCRIP DIVIDEND ALTERNATIVE

On 3 October 2017, the Directors of HSBC Holdings plc declared a third interim dividend for 2017 of US\$0.10 per ordinary share. The third interim dividend will be payable on 22 November 2017 to holders of record on 13 October 2017 on the Principal Register in the United Kingdom, the Hong Kong Overseas Branch Register or the Bermuda Overseas Branch Register. The dividend is payable in cash in United States dollars, sterling or Hong Kong dollars, or a combination of these currencies, with a scrip dividend alternative.

The 'Market Value' for the issue of new shares under the scrip dividend alternative is:

US\$9.8000 for each new share

The 'Market Value' is the United States dollar equivalent of £7.4434 being the average of the middle market quotations for the ordinary shares on the London Stock Exchange as derived from the Daily Official List for the five business days beginning on 12 October 2017.

Dividends payable in cash in sterling or Hong Kong dollars on 22 November 2017 will be converted from United States dollars at the forward exchange rates quoted by HSBC Bank plc in London at or about 11.00am on 13 November 2017. These exchange rates will be announced to the London, Hong Kong, New York, Paris and Bermuda stock exchanges.

Particulars of the dividend arrangements will be sent to shareholders on or about 25 October 2017 and elections must be received by the Registrar by 9 November 2017.

For and on behalf of **HSBC Holdings plc**

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement comprises: Mark Tucker*, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen[†], Kathleen Casey[†], Laura Cha[†], Henri de Castries[†], Lord Evans of Weardale[†], Joachim Faber[†], Irene Lee[†], John Lipsky[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, David Nish[†], Jonathan Symonds[†], Jackson Tai[†] and Pauline van der Meer Mohr[†].

- * Non-executive Group Chairman
- † Independent non-executive Director

HSBC Holdings plc