Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (the "Bank")

(Stock Code: 3988 and 4601 (Preference Shares))

ANNOUNCEMENT Resignation of Executive Director and Executive Vice President of the Bank

The Board of Directors of the Bank (the "**Board**") received the resignation letter from Mr. Gao Yingxin. Mr. Gao Yingxin resigned as Executive Director of the Bank, member of the Risk Policy Committee of the Board and Executive Vice President of the Bank due to the change of job. The resignation shall become effective as of 24 January 2018.

Mr. Gao Yingxin has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board, and there are no matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Board is grateful to Mr. Gao Yingxin for his contribution to the Bank during his tenure.

By Order of the Board Bank of China Limited GENG Wei

Secretary to the Board of Directors and Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC 24 January 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the directors of the Bank are: Chen Siqing, Ren Deqi, Zhang Xiangdong*, Li Jucai*, Xiao Lihong*, Wang Xiaoya*, Zhao Jie*, Nout Wellink[#], Lu Zhengfei[#], Leung Cheuk Yan[#], Wang Changyun[#] and Angela Chao[#].

- * Non-executive Directors
- [#] Independent Non-executive Directors