Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



ASIA SATELLITE TELECOMMUNICATIONS HOLDINGS LIMITED

亞洲衛星控股有限公司*

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
Stock Code: 1135

RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

AND

CHANGES OF COMPOSITION OF AUDIT COMMITTEE, REMUNERATION COMMITTEE, NOMINATION COMMITTEE AND COMPLIANCE COMMITTEE

The board of directors (the "Board") of Asia Satellite Telecommunications Holdings Limited (the "Company") announces the following changes of directorate of the Company with effect from 16 March 2018:

- Mr. Stephen LEE Hoi Yin has resigned from his offices as (i) an Independent Nonexecutive Director; (ii) the Chairman of the Remuneration Committee; (iii) a Member of the Audit Committee; (iv) a Member of the Nomination Committee; and (v) a Member of the Compliance Committee.
- Mr. Steven R. LEONARD (i) ceased to be the Chairman of the Compliance Committee; and (ii) has been appointed as the Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. He remains as a member of the Audit Committee and the Nomination Committee.
- Ms. Philana Wai Yin POON has been appointed as (i) an Independent Non-executive Director; (ii) the Chairman of the Compliance Committee; (iii) a Member of the Audit Committee; and (iv) a Member of the Nomination Committee.

Resignation of Independent Non-executive Director

Mr. Stephen Lee Hoi Yin has confirmed that his resignation is due to other personal commitments. He also confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that there are no matters relating to his resignation that need to be brought to the attention of shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to express its gratitude to Mr. Lee for his outstanding contribution to the Company during his tenure of service.

Appointment of Independent Non-executive Director

The biographical details of Ms. Philana Wai Yin POON are set out as follows:

Ms. Philana Wai Yin Poon, aged 50, is the Executive Director, Legal & Compliance of The Hong Kong Jockey Club ("HKJC"). She is a member of the Board of Management as well as the Company Secretary of HKJC. Ms. Poon has overall responsibility for HKJC's Legal Services Department, Compliance Department and Corporate Secretariat.

Ms. Poon has over 20 years of post-qualification experience both in-house and in private practice. Prior to joining HKJC in 2015, Ms. Poon held various senior positions within the PCCW-HKT Group between 1998 and 2015 including Group General Counsel & Company Secretary. She has a wealth of experience in the telecommunications, media and information technology industries, as well as in the areas of mergers & acquisitions, corporate finance transactions, corporate governance and advising on the Hong Kong Listing Rules and the Securities & Futures Ordinance.

Ms. Poon is an Independent Non-executive Director of Forgame Holdings Limited, a company listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange, and was an Independent Non-executive Director of AZ Electronic Materials S.A., a company formerly listed on the London Stock Exchange from 2012 to 2014.

Ms. Poon has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Toronto and a Doctor of Law degree from Cornell University. In 2014, Ms. Poon was named by Asian Legal Business as Hong Kong's In-House Lawyer of the Year and in 2016, she was named by Asian Legal Business as Hong Kong's Woman Lawyer of the Year.

Ms. Poon has entered into an appointment letter with the Company pursuant to which her appointment as an Independent Non-executive Director of the Company shall be for a term of three years with effect from 16 March 2018, subject to the Bye-laws of the Company. Pursuant to the Bye-laws, Ms. Poon shall hold office until the date of the next annual general meeting of the Company at which she will be eligible to offer herself for re-election. Thereafter, she will be subject to retirement by rotation and re-election in accordance with the Company's Bye-laws. She is entitled to a total director's fee of HK\$398,507 per annum under the relevant appointment letter. The amount of director's fee is determined with reference to her duties and responsibilities to the Company, the Company's remuneration policy and the prevailing market situation, and is subject to the approval of the shareholders of the Company at the next annual general meeting of the Company.

Ms. Poon confirmed that she meets the independence criteria as set out in Rule 3.13 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules").

Saved as disclosed above, Ms. Poon has not held any directorship in public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas during the last three years. She is not related to any director, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company and has not held any other positions with the Company and subsidiaries of the Company at any time.

As at the date of this announcement, Ms. Poon does not have any interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Save as disclosed above, there is no other information relating to Ms. Poon to be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Listing Rules and there is no other matter which needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to extend its warm welcome to Ms. Poon for joining the Board.

By order of the Board of Sue YEUNG Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 16 March 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises 11 directors. The Executive Director is Mr. Andrew G. JORDAN. The Non-executive Directors are Mr. Gregory M. ZELUCK (Chairman), Mr. JU Wei Min (Deputy Chairman), Mr. LUO Ning, Mr. Peter JACKSON, Mr. Julius M. GENACHOWSKI and Mr. Herman CHANG Hsiuguo. The Independent Non-executive Directors are Mr. Marcel R. FENEZ, Mr. Steven R. LEONARD, Ms. Philana Wai Yin POON and Ms. Maura WONG Hung Hung. The Alternate Director is Mr. CHONG Chi Yeung (alternate to Mr. LUO Ning).

^{*} for identification purpose only