Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 00144)

FINAL DIVIDEND FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2017

- 1. The Form of Election should be lodged with the Share Registrar of the Company **not later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, 4 July 2018**. No Form of Election is required if Shareholders elect to receive the Final Dividend in new Shares.
- 2. Formula for calculation of scrip dividend entitlements is set out below.

On 29 March 2018, the board of directors (the "Board") of China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited (the "Company") announced their recommendation of a final dividend for the year ended 31 December 2017 (the "Final Dividend") in scrip form to shareholders whose names appear on the register of members of the Company on 8 June 2018 (the "Record Date") equivalent to HK\$0.59 per ordinary share of the Company (the "Share(s)") with an alternative to shareholders of the Company (the "Shareholders") to elect to receive the Final Dividend in cash in lieu of all or part of their scrip dividend entitlements. At the annual general meeting of the Company held on 1 June 2018, the Final Dividend was approved by the Shareholders.

A circular setting out details of the Final Dividend was sent to Shareholders on 13 June 2018 (the "Scrip Dividend Circular"). This announcement should be read in conjunction with, and is qualified by, the Scrip Dividend Circular. It was mentioned, among others, that for the purpose of calculating the number of new Shares to be allotted, the market value of a new Share will be calculated as an amount equal to the average closing price of one Share on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange") for the five consecutive trading days (on which such price is available) up to and including 21 June 2018. It is now determined that the average

closing price is HK\$16.844. Accordingly, the number of new Shares which Shareholders will receive, in respect of the existing Shares registered in their names as at the Record Date will be calculated as follows:-

The number of new Shares to be received will be rounded down to the nearest whole number of the new Shares. Fractional entitlements to new Shares will be aggregated and sold and the benefit thereof will accrue to the Company. The new Shares to be issued in respect of the Final Dividend will rank pari passu in all respects with the existing Shares except that they shall not rank for the Final Dividend.

Shareholders who wish to receive the Final Dividend in cash, or partly in cash and partly in new Shares are reminded that the Form of Election must be completed and returned to the Share Registrar of the Company, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited at 17M Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong not later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, 4 July 2018. If any Shareholder does not complete and return the Form of Election by not later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, 4 July 2018, the Shareholder will receive the Final Dividend in the form of new Shares. No Form of Election is required if Shareholders elect to receive the Final Dividend in new Shares.

Application will be made to the Listing Committee of the Stock Exchange for the listing of, and permission to deal in, the new Shares. Share certificates for the new Shares and/or cheques for cash dividend will be posted by ordinary mail to those Shareholders entitled thereto at their own risk on or around Tuesday, 17 July 2018.

By order of the Board

China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited

Fu Gangfeng

Chairman

Hong Kong, 21 June 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Fu Gangfeng, Mr. Hu Jianhua, Mr. Su Jian, Mr. Xiong Xianliang, Mr. Bai Jingtao, Mr. Wang Zhixian and Mr. Zheng Shaoping as executive directors; and Mr. Kut Ying Hay, Mr. Lee Yip Wah Peter, Mr. Li Kwok Heem John, Mr. Li Ka Fai David and Mr. Bong Shu Ying Francis as independent non-executive directors.