Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange") take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## **China New Town Development Company Limited**

## 中國新城鎮發展有限公司

(Incorporated as a business company limited by shares under the laws of the British Virgin Islands)
(Stock Code: 1278)

## POLL RESULTS OF THE 2018 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

At the annual general meeting of China New Town Development Company Limited (the "Company") held on 22 June 2018 (the "AGM"), a poll was demanded by the Chairman for voting on all the proposed resolutions as set out in the notice of the AGM dated 26 April 2018 (the "AGM Notice" and the "Proposed Resolutions", respectively).

As at the date of the AGM, a total of 9,726,246,417 ordinary shares of the Company (the "Shares") were in issue and entitled the holders thereof to attend and vote for or against the Proposed Resolutions at the AGM. There were no Shares entitling the holder to attend and abstain from voting in favour of the Proposed Resolutions at the AGM as set out in Rule 13.40 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange (the "Listing Rules"). No holder of the Shares (the "Shareholder") was required under the Listing Rules to abstain from voting on the Proposed Resolutions at the AGM. None of the Shareholders have stated their intention in the Company's circular dated 26 April 2018 (the "Circular") to vote against or to abstain from voting on any of the Proposed Resolutions at the AGM.

However, to demonstrate a good corporate governance practice, each of the respective directors of the Company (the "**Directors**") who was the subject for re-election at the AGM and also a Shareholder had abstained from voting on the respective resolution concerning his own re-election. All the independent non-executive Directors who are

also a Shareholder had abstained from voting on Proposed Resolution 3(b) which relates to their remuneration.

The poll results on each of the Proposed Resolutions put to vote at the AGM are set out as follows:

	Total	For		Against		
Resolutions	number of Shares represented by votes for and against the relevant resolution	Number of Shares	As a percentag e of total number of votes for and against the resolution (%)	Number of Shares	As a percentage of total number of votes for and against the resolution (%)	
Ordinary Resolut	ions	1	· · ·		1	
Ordinary resolution	on 1					
To consider and adopt the audited consolidated financial statements of the Company and its subsidiaries and the reports of the Directors and independent auditor of the Company for the year ended 31 December 2017 (the "Year")	6,733,169,063	5,490,819,260	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45	
Ordinary resolution 2						
To approve the payment of a final dividend of HK\$0.0116 per Share for the Year	6,733,169,063	6,733,169,063	100.00	0	0.00	
Ordinary resolution	on 3(a)(i)			T		
To re-elect Mr. Liu Heqiang as an executive Director	6,733,169,063	5,490,819,260	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45	
Ordinary resolution	Ordinary resolution 3(a)(ii)					
To re-elect Mr. Ren Xiaowei as	6,733,169,063	5,490,819,260	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45	

					T			
an executive								
Director								
Ordinary resolution 3(a)(iii)								
To re-elect Mr.								
Xie Zhen as a	6,733,169,063	5,490,819,260	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45			
non-executive	0,755,109,005	3,490,819,200	61.55	1,242,349,603	16.43			
Director								
Ordinary resolution	Ordinary resolution 3(a)(iv)							
To re-elect Mr. E								
Hock Yap as an								
independent non-	6,733,169,063	5,490,819,260	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45			
executive								
Director								
Ordinary resolution	on 3(b)							
To authorize the								
board of								
Directors (the								
"Board") to fix								
the remuneration	6,733,122,128	5,490,772,325	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45			
of the Directors								
for the year								
ending 31								
December 2018								
Ordinary resolution	on 4							
To re-appoint								
Messrs. Ernst &								
Young as the								
independent								
auditor of the								
Company to hold								
office until the	6,733,169,063	5,490,819,260	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45			
conclusion of the								
next annual								
general meeting								
and to authorize								
the Board to fix								
its remuneration								
Ordinary resolution 5								
To grant a								
general and								
unconditional								
mandate to the								
Directors to	6 722 160 062	5 400 910 260	81.55	1 242 240 902	18.45			
repurchase	6,733,169,063	5,490,819,260	01.33	1,242,349,803	10.43			
Shares not								
exceeding 10%								
of the issued								
Shares*								
Ordinary resolution 6								

To grant a general and unconditional mandate to the Directors to allot, issue and otherwise deal with the additional Shares not exceeding 20% of the issued Shares *	6,733,122,128	5,470,622,590	81.25	1,262,499,538	18.75	
Ordinary resolution	on 7			I		
Conditional on the passing of resolutions nos. 5 and 6, to extend the general mandate granted by resolution no. 6 by adding thereto the Shares bought back pursuant to the general mandate granted by resolution no. 5*	6,733,122,128	5,473,992,590	81.30	1,259,129,538	18.70	
Special Resolution						
To approve the amendments to the articles of association of the Company*	6,733,142,779	5,490,792,976	81.55	1,242,349,803	18.45	

<sup>\*</sup> For the full text of the Proposed Resolutions, please refer to the AGM Notice as contained in the Circular.

All ordinary resolutions were carried by the affirmative votes of more than 50% of the total votes cast on the ordinary resolutions. The special resolution was carried by the affirmative votes of more than 75% of the total votes cast on the special resolution.

Tricor Investor Services Limited, the Hong Kong branch share registrar of the Company, was appointed and acted as the scrutineer for the vote-taking at the AGM.

## By Order of the Board China New Town Development Company Limited Liu Heqiang

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

Hong Kong, 22 June 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Mr. Liu Heqiang (Chief Executive Officer), Ms. Yang Meiyu, Mr. Ren Xiaowei and Mr. Shi Janson Bing; the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Wei Wei (Chairman), Mr. Zuo Kun (Vice Chairman), Mr. Li Yao Min (Vice Chairman) and Mr. Xie Zhen; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Henry Tan Song Kok, Mr. Kong Siu Chee, Mr. Zhang Hao and Mr. E Hock Yap.