Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 998)

ANNOUNCEMENT ON QUALIFICATION APPROVAL OF DIRECTORS

Reference is made to the circulars dated 4 May 2018 and 19 July 2018 of China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited (the "**Bank**") in relation to the appointment of Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac and Mr. Fang Heying as directors of the Bank.

Recently, the Bank received Qualification Approval from CBIRC of Yan Lap Kei Isaac of China CITIC Bank (CBIRC approval [2018] No. 187) and Qualification Approval from CBIRC of Fang Heying of China CITIC Bank (CBIRC approval [2018] No. 186). China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (the "CBIRC") had approved the qualification of Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac to act as independent non-executive director of the Bank and Mr. Fang Heying to act as executive director of the Bank.

The board of directors of the Bank (the "Board") hereby announces:

Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac takes office as an independent non-executive director, term of which commenced from 18 September 2018 (i.e. the date of approval of his qualification by CBIRC) and will end on the expiry date of the term of office of the fifth session of the Board. Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac can be reappointed after the expiry of his initial term of office, but he may not consecutively serve for a term of more than 6 years. Pursuant to the remuneration policy of the fifth session of the Board passed at the 2017 annual general meeting of the Bank, Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac will receive allowance for an independent non-executive director from the Bank during his term as independent non-executive director. According to the resolution of the Board meeting of the Bank convened on 25 May 2018, Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac takes office as chairman of the Audit and Related Party Transactions Control Committee, members of the Risk Management Committee and Nomination and Remuneration Committee of the Board from 18 September 2018.

Mr. Fang Heying takes office as an executive director of the Bank, term of which commenced from 18 September 2018 (i.e. the date of approval of his qualification by CBIRC) and will end on the expiry date of the term of office of the fifth session of the Board. Mr. Fang Heying can be reappointed after the expiry of his initial term of office. Pursuant to the remuneration policy of the fifth session of the Board passed at the 2017 annual general meeting of the Bank, Mr. Fang Heying will receive no allowance for a director from the Bank, but will receive remuneration according to his position and relevant regulations during his term as an executive director.

For particulars of Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac and Mr. Fang Heying and other information required to be disclosed under relevant laws and regulations, please refer to the circulars which have been published on the websites of the Bank (www.citicbank.com) and HKEXnews of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (www.hkexnews.hk).

Ms. Wu Xiaoqing, for her successive serving the Bank for almost six years, no longer held her positions at the Bank including independent non-executive director, chairman of the Audit and Related Party Translations Control Committee, and member of the Risk Management Committee of the Board, and Mr. Wong Luen Cheung Andrew, for his successive serving the Bank for almost six years, discontinued his independent non-executive directorship of the Bank, both with effect from 18 September 2018. Ms. Wu Xiaoqing and Mr. Wong Luen Cheung Andrew had each confirmed that each of them had no disagreement with the Board and there is no other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank in relation to their resignations.

The Board would like to welcome Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac and Mr. Fang Heying for joining the Board and sincerely appreciates the contributions made by Ms. Wu Xiaoqing and Mr. Wong Luen Cheung Andrew to the Bank during their tenures at the Bank.

By Order of the Board of Directors China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited Li Qingping Chairperson

Beijing, the PRC 25 September 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Ms. Li Qingping (Chairperson), Mr. Sun Deshun (President) and Mr. Fang Heying; the non-executive directors are Mr. Zhu Gaoming, Ms. Huang Fang and Mr. Wan Liming; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. He Cao, Ms. Chen Lihua, Mr. Qian Jun and Mr. Yan Lap Kei Isaac.