

BEIJING MEDIA CORPORATION LIMITED

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1000)

ANNOUNCEMENT

The Board announces further developments in relation to the detention of 6 employees of BYDM by the PRC Authorities.

Reference is made to the announcement of Beijing Media Corporation Limited ("BYDM") dated 3 October 2005 (the "Announcement") in relation to the detention of 6 employees of BYDM by the Prosecution Office of the Beijing Dongcheng District and the Second Prosecution Branch Office of the Beijing City, the People's Republic of China (the "PRC Authorities").

The board of directors of BYDM (the "Board") announces that, among the 6 employees of BYDM being detained by the PRC Authorities, formal allegations of bribery were made against Mr. Duan Tao (Officer of Advertising Department) on 27 September 2005, and Mr. Yu Dagong (Head of Advertising Department), Mr. Zhu Weijing (Deputy Head of Advertising Department) and Mr. Lu Jianning (Officer of Advertising Department) on 10 October 2005. The Board became aware of the above allegations on 1 October 2005 and 12 October 2005, respectively. BYDM and the PRC Authorities continue to be in communications regarding these maters. However, the Board is uncertain as to whether the allegations have any relationship with BYDM and has not been officially notified by the PRC Authorities regarding the allegations, if any, concerning Mr. Zheng Yijun (Vice-President) and Mr. Niu Ming (Vice-President). BYDM will announce the findings of the investigation referred to in the Announcement as soon as the report becomes available and is approved by the Board.

As disclosed in the Announcement, measures have been implemented to ensure minimal disruption of the operation of BYDM and the Board does not anticipate any significant disruption to be caused to its daily operations.

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 13.09(1) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By Order of the Board **Zhang Yanping** *Chairman*

Beijing, PRC, 12 October 2005

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises: the executive directors of BYDM, Zhang Yanping, Zhang Yabin, Sun Wei, He Pingping, Du Min, the non-executive directors of BYDM, Liu Han, Xu Xun, Johannes Louw Malherbe, and the independent non-executive directors of BYDM, Tsang Hing Lun, Wu Changqi and Liao Li.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard."