The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 2868)

## **ANNOUNCEMENT**

The Board of Beijing Capital Land Ltd. announce that the Company is operating its business in its usual normal manner. Trading of the H shares of the Company on the Stock Exchange has been suspended from 9:45 a.m. on 20th June 2006 until further notice.

This announcement is made pursuant to rule 13.09 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange").

Reference is made to the newspaper articles appeared in the newspapers on 20th June 2006 and 21st June 2006 in relation to the investigation of Mr. Liu Xiaoguang, the Chairman of Beijing Capital Land Ltd. (the "Company") and the general manager of Capital Group, the parent company of the Company, by the relevant PRC authorities. Since 17th June 2006, Mr. Liu had been cooperated with the relevant authorities regarding the investigation of the former deputy mayor of Beijing City, Mr. Liu Zhihua(劉志華).

At present, the Company is operating its business in its usual normal manner. As the business operations of the Company have been carried out by the Directors and management of the Company as a whole, the Directors believe that the business operations and the financial status of the Company and its subsidiaries will not be affected by the said investigation.

Trading of the H shares of the Company on the Stock Exchange has been suspended from 9:45 a.m. on 20th June 2006 until further notice.

By order of the Board

Beijing Capital Land Ltd.

Eva Chan

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 21st June 2006

The Board as of the date of this announcement comprises Mr. Liu Xiaoguang (Chairman), Mr. Tang Jun and Mr. He Guang who are the executive Directors, Mr. Feng Chun Qin, Mr. Wang Zhengbin, Ms. Zhu Min and Mr. Muk Kin Yau who are the non-executive Directors, Mr. Benny Kwong Kai Sing, Mr. Ke Jianmin, Mr. Yu Xing Bao and Mr. Li Zhaojie being the independent non-executive Directors.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard.