Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 01898)

## Resignation of Mr. Zhang Baoshan as Non-executive Director and Vice Chairman of the Board

On 18 November 2009, the board of directors (the "Board") of China Coal Energy Company Limited (the "Company") received a resignation report from Mr. Zhang Baoshan ("Mr. Zhang"), who, out of personal reason, reported to the Board to resign as a non-executive director and vice chairman of the Board as well as from his positions in the specialized committees of the Board. Pursuant to the relevant provisions of the articles of association of the Company, the resignation of Mr. Zhang shall take effect upon the receipt of the resignation report by the Board.

The resignation of Mr. Zhang will neither cause the number of incumbent members of the Board to fall short of the quorum as provided by the articles of association of the Company nor have any effect on the normal operations of the Company.

As indicated in his resignation report, Mr. Zhang did not have any disagreement with the Board. Mr. Zhang undertook to notify the Board in a timely manner should there be any other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

By Order of the Board
China Coal Energy Company Limited
Wang An

Chairman of the Board, Executive Director

Beijing, the PRC, 19 November 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Wang An and Yang Lieke; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Gao Shangquan, Zhang Ke, Peng Ru Chuan, Wu Rongkang and Li Yanmeng.

<sup>\*</sup> For identification purpose only