Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



招商銀行股份有限公司

CHINA MERCHANTS BANK CO., LTD.

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(H Share Stock Code: 03968)

(Preference Share Stock Code: 04614)

ANNOUNCEMENT RELATING TO IMPORTANT MATTER

This announcement is made by China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. (the "Company" or "China Merchants Bank") pursuant to Rules 13.09(2), 13.51(2) and 13.51B(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") and the Inside Information Provisions (as defined under the Listing Rules) under Part XIVA of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Based on the information disclosed on 22 April 2022 on the website of the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection and the National Supervisory Commission (中央紀委國家監委), Tian Huiyu, the former Secretary to the Party Committee and the former President of the Company, is currently under the disciplinary review and investigation by the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection and the National Supervisory Commission for suspected serious violations of discipline and law.

Wang Liang, the First Executive Vice President of the Company, is in charge of the works of China Merchants Bank currently, and all of the Company's business activities and management are normal. There is no undisclosed information that should be disclosed by the Company.

The Board of Directors of China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd.

22 April 2022

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Wang Liang and Tian Huiyu; the non-executive directors of the Company are Miao Jianmin, Fu Gangfeng, Zhou Song, Hong Xiaoyuan, Zhang Jian, Su Min, Wang Daxiong and Luo Sheng; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Wong See Hong, Li Menggang, Liu Qiao, Tian Hongqi, Li Chaoxian and Shi Yongdong.